On my way out of work today I grabbed a back issue of the sort-of local LGBT issues biweekly Between the Lines. The feature story headline caught my attention, because I thought it was an odd headline to appear on the cover of a free print publication in December of 2008.  It said “Blogging – the Future of the LGBT Movement?”

I thought this was incredible.  Really incredible.  We’re talking about the end of 2008 here, when mobile computing is becoming a reality, I’m friends with my professors on Facebook, and everyone has a blog.  What’s funny is the story says that everyone and their mom can have one.  (Almost literally, everyone and their mom does have one — Brendan just started a blog for his family over at http://coates-famly.blogspot.com.  Mom seems to post the most.)  And BTL is reporting on whether or not blogs are the future of the LGBT movement?

The story itself is incredibly weird.  It made me feel like suddenly I am untethered from the history of my movement.  The fact that a gay interest newspaper is reporting this, this way, and now seems peculiar in a way I can’t necessarily put my finger on.  I’ve been blogging in some form or another since 2000, when I was thirteen.  Is this the real nature of the digital divide?

The opinion piece was accompanied by an article about an LGBT blogger’s summit in DC that happened recently, and the newspaper highlights how veteran bloggers chatted up relative newcomers about how to get more traffic to their sites.  Maybe this is a function of the reporting, but this also seemed to be pretty basic.  I’m starting to get concerned about online opinion echo chambers, the limitations of the internet’s role in modern political and intellectual discourse, and security as a private individual writing about issues that are, in many ways, hotly contested.  BTL seems oblivious of the clear irony of a print publication covering a blogger’s conference (no links to any information about the conference is made available via the article), and not at all self- conscious of its ramifications.  I remain puzzled.  Am I just a young “techie” activist, or is this really actually strange?

