It’s generally pretty hard for me to write about current events, and usually when I do it’s a way for me to grapple with the problems I have with information dissemination.  That the first place I hear about great human tragedies is boingboing.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, I suppose, but in some ways I feel not only like social media is affecting great change in the way we talk about the world, but it makes me question what the role of the mainstream media should be.

Maybe it’s also a vested interest in what the people actually think.  We had a difficult moment today with all the facilitators, together: one of the facilitators is from Mumbai and her family was lucky enough to survive.  The attacks occurred in their own neighborhood in the city, in fact some relatives were preparing to get married this week and were staying in the Taj.  They — and their wedding party — had decided to eat at a restaurant elsewhere in the city that night.  It’s so strange, these choices we make.  It’s so strange, it makes the battle to believe in something ever harder.

It puzzles me, for there are probably twice as many stories of disaster narrowly averted as there are stories of loss.  I hear echoes of avoiding disaster in my own life, and it leaves me troubled when I come up with no answers as to why these sorts of things happen to some and not to others.

I’ve been sifting through the #Mumbai updates on Twitter from when they were added in real-time during the events this weekend, and it serves a chilling log of what happened.  I wonder if anybody will archive it for posterity’s sake?  The horror of reading backwards through the political outcry and into the immediate shock and grief and into the blustering confusion of the moment is very powerful for me.  And perhaps it is helping me come to grips with this, better than any flashing television reports showing people falling out of the Twin Towers ever helped me deal with that tragedy.  I recommend it for anybody looking to make a little sense of what they’ve been hearing, seeing and reading.  It’s quite a remarkable record.

