So I’ve caught my first cold of the school year. Somehow I feel like this is going to be a more common occurrence this year as I had mono over the summer, which has probably left my immune system depressed. I never get sick. When I was in elementary school I got sick maybe once a year, and it was usually pretty serious. My automatic response when I’m not feeling up too snuff is just to go to sleep until it passes over, I think mostly because I am used to illnesses that wash me up for a week, or land me in the hospital.

Right now, I have a pretty basic cold – congestion, runny nose, a little temperature spike (I don’t have a thermometer but I’ve been getting the heat and chills cycle of a decent fever for about four hours now), swollen and tender lymph nodes, and fatigue. I mean, I could get up and do some stuff, but I’d much rather sleep it off. Am I being a wuss, or am I getting rid of the sickness faster so I’ll be full-form faster?

Maybe I’m just looking for an excuse to lie in bed and sit on my computer. After all, there is nothing better than the Internet to distract you from your troubles and travails. And when you’re done, you can just roll over and take a nap. Which is what I’m about to do.

