This happens every fall.  We start classes, I get busy, forget about my blogs.  This also happens every fall – I start wandering aimlessly across campus during the day, and I am always surrounded by people, but none of them are speaking with each other, and everyone is very absorbed in their business.

I am continually surprised by how serious everyone is here in Ann Arbor.  I tried to organize another big public pillowfight last week, but it didn’t work because nobody showed.  I don’t know why this happened, but the cynic in me wants to say that everyone is too busy this term for fun.  I guess I kind of am, too.  My heart wasn’t in it this time, and I have to say that I didn’t care a lot that it didn’t go down.  A little disappointed, but on the whole unsurprised and nonplussed.

I am too busy for fun too.  I go about my business during my day with a great sense of purpose, as if everything that I am doing is enormously urgent.  (On the other hand this gets me out of socially awkward situations I would rather not be in – can you come to my [insert event]?  No, I’m busy with [insert reference to the fact you are rushing around here].)  But at the same time I think it kind of sucks the life out of you.  I feel weird that I haven’t written anything in this blog recently, for example.  Maybe that will change.  The first two weeks are always chaotic.

