For most people (of course I assume a certain socioeconomic status here) traveling is easy.  It’s not like it’s hard for me, it’s just harder.  I think that having to worry about gender presentation in a strange place is, largely, the reason I don’t more actively pursue studying abroad.  And yet I really love going places.

Passing in big cities is easy.  These guys see it all, and moreover, Chicago specifically is fond of my gender deviance.  I feel like it’s not even a novelty anymore, it’s just that they love trannies.

And maybe it’s my paranoia that keeps me from public restrooms sometimes.  But I get no shit in Chicago whereas I get shit regularly in Ann Arbor (irony of ironies!).  Maybe I need to spend more time here, but in the time I have spent here recently nobody has give me any grief at all.  If I were to spend an isolated week at home I’m sure that somebody would say something.

And that’s why I love city life.  Oh, that, and the anonymity and the fact the dating pool in Chicago is twice the size of the entire population of Ann Arbor.

