I generally really like going out to local shows, getting trashed with small-time artists, being a snot about just about everything with my friends and raiding dumpsters in Detroit for good bits to make art with.  Yet lately I have been feeling really jaded with the scene, really tired of its trappings, and most importantly more interested in my private intellectual pursuits.

The gang keeps talking about buying a farm or loft space or a warehouse in Detroit and moving there once we all graduate.  I love my friends, don’t get me wrong, and I think they’re all brilliant, but I don’t want to live with them.  When I graduate I’m going to be ready for a place of my own, and to go to graduate school, rather than keep getting drunk and making psychedelic music.  Maybe it’s a progression, maybe I’m kind of a sell-out, but my ambitions are apparently differently motivated than theirs.

And I’m actually kind of tired, tired of the scene, tired of the scenesters, and tired of indulging the prevailing aesthetic on the scene.  I could ascribe this to anything really, so I’m not going to really offer any commentary on it except for the fact that I like academia, and I could see myself being a career art star, but I would rather do things like…fix Africa, or save music, or give the Internet to little kids or something.

So, you know, I love the idea of the warehouse in Detroit (only around $20,000) and all my friends living in it, but I don’t know that I could, personally.

