Writing on the road is remarkably rewarding. I wish I could get someone to drive me around while I sit horizontally in the backseat and compose, watching the trees fly by out of the corners of my eyes. Maybe now I will associate the Maryland countryside more with the impossibility of recovering the creature, much like listening to All Hail West Texas is fiercely associated with driving to Chicago during the summer of 2006, riding shotgun and bantering with Sara, Emma and Brendan.

I like having battery life to sit and fiddle around. Out here there isn’t any wireless, either: I can focus wholly on composing. When I need a break I sit back and take in the rolling fields. I wrote the fastest page yet for Pachella’s perception class just now, pounding it out in about forty-five minutes. The paper is laborious because the argument I take is so self-evident to me that it seems dumb to argue. I napped a little in there, too.

I have been thinking about what would make my theoretical life as a millionaire more meaningful, and I think I’ve figured it out. Boing Boing had a thing recently about an African entrepreneur who wants to raise the capital to lay fiber optic cable to provide more of Kenya with Internet access. I have to say I’m a bit of an Internet romantic, that despite China’s absurd ability to restrict what its citizens view on the web, I think that the Internet is the great equalizer. I want to invest in African information technology infrastructure. I really think that allowing the dissatisfied citizens of the African continent to connect to other likeminded people as never before might help defuse violent revolution. Of course warlords and demagogues could also harness it, but I don’t believe that anyone really wants to be ruled by bloodthirsty psychos. And to be fair, the Internet is as easy to use for the righteous as it is for psychos. I want to use globalization as a tool to help those who have thusfar just been given the short straw by the developed world. This makes sense, doesn’t it? Development is neither an easy nor a painless process, but information sharing is essential to innovation, and as I see it, sharing technology is one of the best things an information technology expert can give to Africa.

