This, if legit, is probably the creepiest thing I’ve heard in a while.  (Infocult link contains plenty of links to background information on this case.)  I guess this family’s cell phones are “haunted”: controlled by an external force, even when the phones are off.  The funny thing about consumer technology is we know how to work it in daily life, but very few people actually know how it works.  In this story it seems to be the authorities who are denying the fact that this case might have a legitimate stalker-type slant: the family, like most families I know, don’t really understand how their cell phones work.  I didn’t know details of how cell phones can be bugged until I read this story on the case, and I consider myself rather technology savvy.

The people who hold the power are the people who hold the facts, and I don’t think this has ever been truer.  Ever since I learned about GPS devices in cell phones, I’ve been creeped out that something that I depend on for my day-to-day life reveals so much information to – whom?  I don’t think that my cell phone’s GPS device is being used to track me, control me, or otherwise used against me.  But at the same time when I read stuff like this I can’t help but think the possibility is there, and that kind of bothers me.

